As of 15th July 2014, 50 countries have either ratified, approved, accepted or acceded to the Nagoya Protocol and it will therefore officially enter into force in 90 days, on 12th October 2014.  All Southern African countries which have ratified or acceded to the Protocol (Botswana, Namibia, Mozambique, Madagascar, and South Africa) are now working to implement the relevant processes in order to comply.  From 12th October 2014, any local or international users of genetic resources sourced from these countries must also comply with the local regulation.  PhytoTrade Africa will continue to support its members and their customers in their respective compliance requirements.

For any enquiries, please send us an email:  [email protected]